NANASAHEB’S REQUEST

This story of Nanasaheb’s removal does not seem only to be a legend, and there are evidences available proving it true to some degree. However, the affair dragged on longer than a few days; in fact, it was perhaps months.

Sometime in late 1746 or early 1747, the machinations against Nanasaheb reached fever pitch and Shahu refused to allow him to come to his court. Effectively, the Peshwa’s powers were taken away. The logical expectation of his detractors was that the Peshwa would rebel and be exposed for being disloyal to Maharaj. The Peshwa, however, played his cards with care.

A letter by Nanasaheb to Govindrao Chitnis sometime in early 1747 after Sadashivrao left for the Carnatic reveals how the situation actually was. Nanasaheb was disturbed at not being granted an audience by Maharaj. He, therefore, requested Govindrao to convey five points on his behalf to the Chhatrapati. The letter supports the narrative of the Bakhar to a large extent, “Many blessings. You wrote that I could not meet Rajashree Swami in the night, so, you can’t be faulted for God’s will. Hereafter, try and seek a meeting in the afternoon and submit the following requests –

  1. I have tried hard to resolve all the issues in both the mansions. However, I can hardly do anything if a new one emerges daily. Again, that is still not an issue. I will resolve them. Presently, there are no issues remaining amongst the mansions. They could have agreed something verbally, which we will take care. About the Maharaj’s debts, whatever the Maharaj decides and orders, I will execute. I will not make excuses that I could not do it as I did not go out (on a campaign). However, the order ought to be something I can fulfil. In every strategy in war, there is a period approaching the climax. So, this servant should be ordered accordingly after consulting both the mansions. Maharaj should grace us by doing so in one or two days.
  2. If the order is that I should not go anywhere until I have managed to repay the debts owed by the Maharaj, I will not go to Pune. I will go to Pune and Vasai only when Maharaj orders. The strategy for the campaign (in Vasai) has to be executed in the next fifteen days. If the master does not resolve the dispute within this time, the strategy will turn sour. So, please postpone the present situation for a month or two. Later, the Maharaj can summon me again.
  3. If Maharaj is suspicious because of rumours amongst the public, that I plan to campaign against the Naik, this can be removed. Whichever district is awarded to the Naik by Maharaj, he can go there. No quarrel will be started without an express order from the Maharaj.
  4. Chiranjeev Bhau has gone there (Carnatic). If Nawab (Nizam) too goes there, then the threat we have posed to Goa will lessen. Many other miscellaneous issues will be left hanging. This will spoil our reputation. The Maharaj should allow us to generate the revenue to be deposited in the government. Should everything be done so that I sustain a loss? At least permit me to go two stages from here towards the place where the campaign currently is. I will send the entire army with Pilaji to Chiranjeev and return here at service.
  5. News has spread amongst the subjects that the Maharaj has relieved me (of my office). The matter will reach the Nawab’s ears too. That I am in your bad books, and then you reappoint me, may also reach the public ear. Whichever people don’t know they will also get this news.

If, after appealing to the Maharaj with such transparency, he does not change his mind, I will say that the Lord is displeased with this kingdom. I will then abandon all fear of loss of reputation and sit quietly. Please ensure the entire request is placed before Maharaj and get an answer back.”

This letter throws light upon the meeting between Nanasaheb and Shahu and the contemporary conspiracies. This has a reference to Sadashivrao Bhau leaving for the Carnatic. From the month of December 1746 to May 1747, Sadashivrao Bhau was in the Carnatic. Of course, this letter proves beyond debate that Nanasaheb falling out of favour was observed in the initial two to three months of 1747.

To be continued…

Leave a comment